Texas A & M University
Texas A & M University or TAMU
Texas A & M University or TAMU
Texas A & M University or TAMU
Texas A & M University or TAMU


The Texas A & M University


The Texas A&M University is located in College Station, Texas. It is a co-educational public research university, and is often called TAMU or A&M. It is the Texas A&M University System’s flagship institution.
The university opened its doors as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas on October 4, 1876. It was the state’s first public institution of higher education.

The Texas Legislature renamed the school in 1963 and gave it its current name. This change was
done to reflect the institution’s expanding academic offerings. “A&M” are retained, despite the letters
not standing for anything, because it serves a link to the institution’s past. The school offers over 150 courses in ten colleges, and it has 18 research institutions. The Texas A&M has awarded over 70,000 graduate and professional degrees and over 320,000 degrees.

Students, alumni and the sports teams of the university are called “Aggie”. The Texas A&M is a land,
sea and space grant institution that is involved in a wide range of research and projects by such agencies as NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, and the Office
of Naval Research. The Texas A&M also has presence in all 254 Texan counties through working with agencies including the Texas AgriLife Extension Service and the Texas AgriLife Research.


© 2013 Texas Pictures